Green sky, pink dawn

I am back in Europe, in Frankfurt to be exact. It’s been 15 years since I’ve been here, and really, that time didn’t count, since I never left the airport. This time, however, will be a different story.
At some point over northern Canada last night, not able to sleep and wondering where we were, I looked out the window to be greeted by an expanse of arctic below and bright streaks of flashing green across from me. The northern lights were in full effect in the clear, starry night sky, the first time I’ve ever seen them from a plane! I watched the green dance and flare for about a half hour, until it faded into black again, and I tried to get some sleep.

I’m on my way to South Africa for a once in a lifetime family Christmas. With 12 hours to spare in this European city, I plan to eat a lot (nothing new there!), drink some mulled wine and generally explore the city. True to more recent travelling form, I have done absolutely zero research about Frankfurt, and intend to fly by the seat of my pants for the day. As Mom and Dad were just here last week, they’ve already scoped out the markets and tell me it’s a must – of course, I already knew that; it’s where the food is!

Currently I’m still winging my way to the city, and enjoying watching the sun rise over the patchwork of fields that is Germany. The little twinkly lights of the towns and villages in the countryside look quaint from way up here, and of course will only get more picturesque the closer we get. The tops of some buildings poke out through the early morning fog, and the sky is bright with pinks and oranges. 

Time to land, more to come!

  

This entry was posted in Africa, Canada, Europe, Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

